Amateur Photography

I was really struggling with how to introduce this blog post so I’m just going to keep it simple and let the photos do the talking! Recently I’ve been learning a bit about photography basics and how to use the manual mode on my camera (It’s a pretty basic Bridge camera – Fujifilm FinePix S4900). I’ve always used auto settings before so it’s definitely a learning curve adjusting everything manually but I’m slowly getting there and have taken some nice-ish shots that I’m pretty happy with (which I’m sure in a few months time will look super amateur to me!) so thought I would share them below.

DSCF1417
Little pigeon
DSCF1416
Cute little doggy
DSCF1423
Don’t like how dark this came out but it shows the grungy side of city hall I guess xD
DSCF1431
Spirit of Belfast – Can you believe Bonnie was able to behave here at the BSL Rally!
DSCF1452
Lone apple on our tree
DSCF1457
Trio of apples on our tree – we have so many growing this year I must put up a challenge for you guys to try to spot them all!
DSCF14701
And of course can’t have a post without Bonnie in it somewhere 🙂

If anyone has any tips or good resources for learning more about photography I would love to hear them! Also I have a question in case anyone could let me know – A lot of times when I take a photo it looks great on the camera viewer but looks awful when bigger on the laptop screen, like the quality is quite low and the picture has a bit of a soft effect. This happens even when the camera was held steady, there was good lighting and I used the auto focus. It doesn’t happen all the time like in the above photos so is this a case of auto focus not quite working right, dirty lens or something else I’m missing? (maybe skill? haha) Any advice would be greatly appreciated!


You can also follow our adventures on FacebookInstagram & Twitter


9 thoughts on “Amateur Photography

  1. The auto focus will generally find an object in the centre of your screen and then focus. If your object of interest is slightly off centre, then it may be slightly out of focus. What you can do is to make sure that your object of interest is centred and allow the camera to focus. Of course there may something else you want which is now off screen… so you quickly change position to get the scene you want and take it before the camera has a chance to refocus! 🙂
    Also, your camera may well have a number of “auto” options. Spend some experimenting with them to see just what impact they have. I have a fully automatic camera… and I still have some choices!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t have any advice because, although I LOVE photography, I only use automatic settings because trying to figure out manual makes my head spin XD

    Do you edit your pics? I use FastStone and Pixlr (Pixlr you just use in a tab on your browser) and they both have some nifty features…I love meddling with my photos! As you may have noticed I am addicted to black and white shots XD

    Also I don’t think I read your harness post that I’ve just seen…some blogs just don’t come up on my reader, so I’m going to go admire whichever new harness you have!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your photos are always lovely 🙂 I think I need to practice more just in general as usually my partner takes photos on his phone as I’m usually doing the stuff with Bonnie. I don’t edit them but really should as sometimes the contrast and stuff is a bit off looking so thanks for the recommendations I will look into them 😀 Hehe black and white photos have such a nice feel to them, although I don’t think it would make much difference in Bonnie’s case xD

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 I might have lost the manual (whoops) but I did some googling and watched some videos on youtube which helped a bit but I definitely need to get lots of practice! Yay I’m so glad, can’t wait to see how you get on 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you 🙂 I believe I may upgrade my phone soon as it’s getting progressively worse at taking photos – might be due to it’s age (coming up to 3 years) but definitely nothing to do with how many times I have dropped it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

