Dog Training Wishlist

I’ve been a bit absent from the blogging world this week (can’t wait to catch up on all the posts I’ve missed) as I was ill earlier in the week and then we had an awesome trip away to a dog friendly hotel over this weekend. I can’t wait to get a post up showing our adventures but in the mean time here’s another wishlist, I love doing these wishlists as I have way too much fun searching for new dog products.

I will be the first to admit that I’m a bit obsessed with training props and accessories. I love having objects for Bonnie to interact with during training as I think it adds something a bit different to our everyday training and also for raising Bonnie’s confidence with new and strange objects. If money was no option I would have a dedicated training room jam packed with loads of different equipment, but for now I’ll buy a few small things at a time.

Here are some products that would be in my ideal training room.

trainingWishlist

  1. Doggone Good Rapid Rewards Treat Bag – I already have a Mikki Treat Bag but I’ve had it since Bonnie joined us nearly a year ago and it’s a bit worn now. This treat bag looks great (and it comes in pink to match her other stuff!) has a good amount of space in the main compartment as well as lots of little storage spaces around the bag which will be handy for poo bags, clickers etc. I also like that it can be worn with either a belt or clipped to your trousers using the belt clip.
  2. Balance Pods – These are a cheaper alternative to the popular FitPAWS Paw Pods, these are good for helping to increase paw coordination and balance. I think Bonnie has no clue that she can move her back feet independently so these would be useful for teaching her rear-end awareness. Also they are great for general conditioning in preparation for dog sports like agility.
  3. Agility Equipment – I was super lucky to find someone on Gumtree selling used agility jumps for a ridiculously cheap price (I made my fiancé drive us nearly a hour away to get them because I couldn’t pass them up xD) so we have 6 jumps or they can be used as 3 jumps and 6 weave poles. I still would love to get a tunnel, see-saw, a-frame etc. This link has really detailed instructions on how to create your own jumps, weave poles and see-saw, these are pretty expensive when new so the DIY version is a great alternative.
  4. Skateboard – Recently while we were on a walk past the leisure centre I discovered that skateboards totally overstimulate Bonnie, when she seen a skateboarder a few metres away she was straining on the lead and wouldn’t listen. So I’m hoping that I can desensitise her with one in the house and also if I could teach her to skateboard too that would be pretty cool!
  5. Hula Hoop – A hula hoop is a pretty cheap prop which can be used for training a few different tricks – jumping through it, weaving, sending the dog to it while it’s flat on the floor, holding it using their mouth/paws etc.
  6. Desk Reception Bell – I was inspired to include this because of this video of Ace, it’s so adorable! Dai Aoki has two border collies Holly and Ace and I really recommend checking out his dog training facebook page as his videos always bring a smile to my face.

I will probably do a part two later on as there are so many things I would like to include. Do you have any favourite training props or accessories?


You can also follow our adventures on FacebookInstagram & Twitter


5 thoughts on “Dog Training Wishlist

  1. I had the Mikki treat bag, I was really impressed but then all of a sudden the inside lining started to fall apart when I washed it…I bought a similar design (don’t remember which) and like it; it’s held up well and is easy to use – however there are NO other pockets, just the main one for treats, and the opening is so wide that when I bend down to give dinky Rey a reward sometimes all the hotdog pieces fall out and he ends up with a much bigger reward than I had planned 😀

    I really REALLY like the one you have found…I have a smidge of birthday money left so am totally gonna get it! Please keep posting your wish lists you have found some awesome things!!

    Oh man I’ve been meaning to buy a hoop since we before we got Zoey haha ooops. I found a bell some months back in an old board game we had, and I taught Zoey to ring it! Was mucho fun 😀

    I’m glad you are feeling better btw and can’t wait to see your upcoming posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha little Rey getting a random jackpot reward 🙂
      I like doing the wishlists because I spend that much time looking at doggy products anyway xD
      Zoey is such a clever girl! Love that you included tips in the video, can’t wait to try it sometime.
      Thanks 🙂 I’m just happy to be getting back into a normal routine

      Like

      1. He got four unplanned jackpot rewards on a walk the other day from when I was bending to give him treats and all the hot dog fell out…I’m talking 20+ pieces each time; nightmare XD

        Thanks, she catches on pretty well when she wants to 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

